Today I spoke to the pianist that work at the primary school I have a part time job at. I asked him if I’d be able to record him playing the piano for this media project. He willingly agreed and I gave him a rough idea of the sort of music that I’d be wanted home to perform.

Instead of getting him to play a five minute long piece on the piano, I have decided that it would much easier to record one section, and have it loop over in the background of the film. However, the aim of composing our own music was so that we could get the exact sound we wanted, which included it to get faster towards the final scene. I will be investigating and looking into how to write and compose sheet music, and I will then be trying to make my own. If I cannot do so, Carl Bird (the pianist) is a very capable piano player and can compose music himself, so I could ask him to help me with it. We have yet to decide whether we wish to have other instruments in the music or whether we are going to stick to simply piano. Violins would be a very good addition, however, our access to violins is very limited and it would be hard to fit the violin with the piano.

Reading Sheet Music:

Learning how to read and write screen music is a very difficult and time consuming process, time that we do not have. I did know how to read and write sheet music from studying music from years 7 to 9, meaning that I do have limited knowledge on the topic.

sheet-music

The image above is of the piano sheet music for the song “Set Fire to the Rain” by Adele. As you can see the sheet music is very complex, and the notes range drastically even in such a short length of music. For our piece, we will be most likely be using base chords as well as the notes within the treble clef, simply because that means that there is more depth to the piece rather than it being a sequence of single notes. For our music, we would only need one minutes worth of chords and notes, it’s just deciding which chords and notes fit together well and can play out nicely.

I have come to the conclusion that it would be simpler and more efficient to have a discussion with the pianist, and describe how I’d like the music to play out, and see what he can do (rather than composing the full piece of music). I will be finding music that sounds similar to the way that we would like it and playing them to him to give him a taste of what we’d like. I will be asking to play one minutes worth of piano, and at the end of that minute I am also going to be recording him transitioning into a faster tempo. I have decided on this because we can loop the first minute of it 4 times, and shorten the last loop at the beginning, and then use the part where he transitions right at the end. This will make the sound continuous, rather than recording the looped section first, and then recording the ending and trying to fit them together.

Considering Other Instruments:

Until we have recorded and heard what he piano music is going to be like, we will be unable to tell if we are going to need other instruments or not. It would be good if we had violins also, but it is going to be very difficult to do so as we have no access to them. At the moment, it is looking as though piano on itself will fit the role perfectly. An isolated piano will have a positive effect on the audience as a piano is often associated with sad scenarios as well as happy ones. This means that we can manipulate the sound to make it more happy at the end but sad in the middle of the production.

Leave a Reply

